About

My name is Amy. I am 36 years old and live in Marietta, Georgia with my husband John and our two senior dogs, Missy and Louie. Missy is our 10-year-old Jack Russell and Louie is our 15-year-old long-haired dachshund/possibly black lab or spaniel mix.

I am originally from Montgomery, Alabama and went to college at the University of South Alabama in Mobile, Alabama. I am a lifelong University of Alabama football fan and I have a Bachelor of Arts in English-Creative Writing.

I moved from Montgomery to Atlanta in November 2009, into my own apartment in February 2011, and met John when I went to visit his sister Sara in Savannah, Georgia on the 4th of July in 2011. John was in the army stationed at Ft. Benning at the time but moved in with me in April 2012 after finishing up his six years in the army.

I am a huge Gone with the Wind fan so it was appropriate that John and I lived in Atlanta, got engaged in Charleston in July 2013, and got married in Savannah in July 2015.

Since we’ve been together, we have moved from Smyrna, Georgia to Chicago, Illinois, and back to Marietta, Georgia.

I started writing stories when I was six or seven years old, around the time my love for reading really began to flourish, and I’ve been writing ever since. I wrote short stories in elementary school, song lyrics throughout my teens and early twenties, fanfiction in my teens, and poems, stories, and screenplays in college. I have been journaling somewhat regularly since October 2001.

I have been through a lot in my life from being the only girl and oldest of four and becoming a mother to my two youngest brothers, a mediator between my divorced parents, and a mother to my own mother at times. I have struggled with my weight and health issues such as hypothyroidism, PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome), endometriosis, gastritis, IBS, and depression and anxiety. I am still here because of my grandmother June, writing, my sense of humor, and a deep-seated faith and hope even if I’m not exactly sure in what these days. There is definitely something beyond me but I don’t know what it is.

I am not nearly as serious as I sound in this intro or in my posts. I love Disney princesses (my favorites are Ariel, Rapunzel, and Moana), baking, road trips (especially if I’m not driving), singing, dancing, writing, traveling, THE BEACH, 90s pop music (Backstreet Boys fan for life), reading, cycling, lying in bed with John and laughing at funny dog videos and pics on YouTube, Instagram, and Reddit, and finding the good in even the worst situations. I love college football – the SEC is the best division and ROLL TIDE – and fall is the best season (being an October baby makes me a little biased). I am a huge weather nerd and dream of one day chasing tornadoes (as long as they’re not chasing me back.) I am a tomboy at heart but love wearing floral prints and dresses.

I love my parents, brothers, husband, friends, and puppies with all my heart. I am fiercely loyal, trustworthy, dependable, open, honest, and I think most of the time I am pretty fun to be around. I am an outgoing introvert – definitely love to talk but also need my alone time to recharge.

I think that pretty much sums me up. I am an open book so if you have questions, I will answer them.